Topics Map > IT Services > Training
Topics Map > IT Services > Software Support

D2L - Add/Remove/Change Users in a Course Site

Information on adding other Instructors, Grad Assistants, students, etc to a D2L Course Site

Add New Users to D2L Course Site

Occasionally a user will need to be added to a D2L course site.  Instructions for adding the individual as well as differences between roles are listed below

Video Tutorial

Written Instructions:

  1. Click Other Tools > Classlist
  2. Click the Add Participants button
  3. Click Add an existing user.
       Add Existing User button

  4. In the Search for field, type in the person's last name or TitanID.
  5. Click the search icon search  next to the search bar.
  6. Find the person in the list. Click the checkbox in front of their name and select a role for the user from the dropdown list.
    • Use Instructor or Student if appropriate.
    • Guest Lecturers can add content, participate in discussions, and see content. They cannot see the gradebook and they cannot delete content.
    • Learning assistants (aka TAs or GAs) can do everything instructors can do except delete entire grade items.
    • Observers can view course content and discussions. They cannot participate in the course and do not have access to any course management.
    • NonOshInstructor and NonOshStudent should not be used.
    • Student Guest has the same access as a student except they cannot take quizzes and do not appear in the gradebook. 
    • Student-View Inactive: allows students with incomplete coursework to continue to view the course until the incomplete work is done. 
    • Librarian: can view and add content as well as create and participate in D2L discussions.
    • Course Librarian: can add content, discussions, and dropboxes.  This role can not see student grades.
    • Peer Mentor: Can add content, participate and create discussions, but can not see grades.
  7. Click the Enroll Selected Users Button at the bottom left.
  8. The person will be enrolled. Select Done and you will be returned to the classlist. To add another participant, select Add Participants again. DO NOT use the search box on the classlist page.
Troubleshooting Tip: If a user does not appear in a search.  Double check your existing classlist.  If they are already enrolled in your course, they will not appear in a search.

Changing User Role

  1. Click Other Tools>Classlist from the Navigation.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the participant you would like to modify.
  3. Click the Enrollment button
  4. The screen will change to only list the participant you selected.  Choose the new role from the dropdown on the right.
  5. Click Save
    change enrollment


Unenrolling a User from the course.

  1. Click Other Tools>Classlist from the Navigation.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the participant you would like to remove.
  3. Click the Unenroll link.
  4. Click Save
    Unenroll Image

If you need further assistance please contact the Information Technology Help Desk at 920-424-3020 or helpdesk@uwosh.edu




Keywords:participants, add, remove   Doc ID:56987
Owner:Sarah B.Group:UW Oshkosh
Created:2015-10-02 14:21 CDTUpdated:2015-11-05 12:33 CDT
Sites:UW Oshkosh
Feedback:  0   1