Topics Map > IT Services > Training
Topics Map > IT Services > Software Support
Adobe InDesign - Saving and Reverting Documents
This guide will show you how to properly save a document.
Changes in the document are seen in the upper left corner box where the document name is displayed, shown by a small star. This means there have been changes since it was last saved.
- Click File then Save
- This saves over the current document.
- This saves a new version of the document and does not overwrite the old one.
- Choose the destination of the saved document and a file name.
- To save the document in a different format choose the format from the dropdown menu.
- A InDesign Document is the standard format. Changes can be made to this document.
- A Template will not allow any changes in the future.
- An IDML file is a format that allows the current document to be compatible with older versions of InDesign.
- This allows for the document to be saved as it currently is, but still lets the user work on it.
Undo and Re-Do
- InDesign allows for unlimited undos, this is done by pressing
- cmd+z (mac) or ctrl+z (windows)
- cmd+shift+z (mac) or ctrl+shift+z(windows)
- Both of these options can also be selected from the Edit menu.
- This will revert the document back to its last saved state.
Save early, save often!
If you need further assistance please contact the Information Technology Help Desk at 920-424-3020 or email@example.com