Topics Map > IT Services > Account Access and Use
Topics Map > IT Services > Software Support

Google Drive - Setting up and Managing a Google Team Drive

How to create and manage a Google Team Drive

Setting up Google Team Drive 

  • Create a Team Drive 
    • Open Drive 
    • In the left navigation, click Team Drives 
    • At top, click NEW
    • Enter a name
    • Click Create
create a team drive
  • Add members & set permissions
  • To add members and set permissions you need full access permission
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive
    • At the top, under the Team Drive name, click +Add Members
    • Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups
    • (Optional) To change the permissions from Full Access, next to Full, click on the down arrow and choose a new permission
    • (Optional) Enter a message
    • (Optional) If you don't want to send notifications, select Skip sending notifications
    • Choose an option
      • Click Send to send notifications
      • Click Add if you do not want to send notifications
add members
  • Change member permissions
  • To change member permissions, you need full access permission
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive
    • At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow, Manage members
    • Next to a members name, click the Down arrow, and select a new permissoin
    • Click Done 
change member permissions
  • Remove members
  • To remove members, you need full access permission
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive
    • At the top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow, Manage members
    • Next to a member's name, click on the Down arrow, and select Remove member
    • Click Done
remove members
  • Create a new folder 
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive or existing folder
    • Click New > Folder
    • Enter a folder name
    • Click CREATE
  • Upload an existing folder from your computer
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive folder
    • On your computer, drag an existing folder into a Team Drive. Or, click New > Folder upload. Navigate to the folder and open it
create folders
  • Add and open files
  • To add files to a Team Drive, you need at least edit access permission. Any files you add are owned by the team. If you leave the Team Drive, your files remain
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive folder
    • Drag an existing file to upload it from your computer. Or, click New and choose an option: 
      • To create a file, select the file type you want to create, such as Google Docs
      • To upload a file, select File upload. Navigate to the file and open it.
    • Double-click a file to open it
add and open files
  • Star Important Files
    • To flag important files or folders to find them quickly. Just right-click a file or folder and select Add Star
    • To see all your starred files and folders, in the left sidebar, click Starred
star important files 
  • Move Files
    • You can move any file you own into a Team Drive, whether it is from another Drive location, or from your computer, or mobile device
    • To move files between Team Drives or from My Drive into a Team Drive drag the files into the destination Team Drive folder
      • To move files between Team Drives, you must have full access to the original team drive and at least edit access to the to the destination team drive
      • If someone else owns the file, you need to ask them to move it
MOve files
  • Delete files
  • You must have full access permission to delete a file
    • Click the file you want to delete and at the top right, click the trash icon
    • This deletes the file for everyone
    • If a file is accidentally deleted, you can restore it
  • Restore files
  • You must have edit access permission or higher to restore a file
    • In the left navigation, click a Team Drive
    • At top, next to the Team Drive name, click the Down arrow > View Trash
    • Click a file and click Restore
Delete or restore
  • Share files with individuals or groups
    • Click a file to share
    • Click the share icon
    • Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups
    • (Optional) To change the permissions from edit, click the down arrow and choose another permission
      • If you set permissions to View or comment, you can prevent people from downloading, printing, and copying shared files
    • (Optional) Add a message
    • Click Send
share a file
  • Email a link
    • Click a file to share
    • Click the share icon
    • Click Who has Access
    • Next to Link sharing off, click the down arrow
    • Next to the URL, click Copy. The link is now on your clipboard
    • Click Done
    • Paste the link into an email
share a link
  • Share a link
    • Click a file to share
    • Click the share icon
    • Click Who has access
    • Next to Link Sharing off, click the down arrow
    • Turn Link Sharing on
    • Click the down arrow, and choose a permission
    • (Optional) To allow sharing outside your organization, click Allow external access
    • (Optional) to make the document searchable in Drive, click Findable in search results
    • Click Done 
share a link
  • Unshare files within your organization
    • Click a file to unshare
    • Click the share icon
    • Click Who has access
    • Turn Link Sharing off
    • Click Done
Unshare files
  • Unshare files with individuals
  • If the file you unshare is still shared with an organization or group that includes the person , they can still access the file 
    • Click on a file to unshare
    • Click the share icon
    • Click Who has access
    • Nest to the person, click the down arrow, than select Remove
Unshare files with individuals




Keywords:Google Team drive, sharing,   Doc ID:79965
Owner:Robert C.Group:UW Oshkosh
Created:2018-02-07 16:56 CDTUpdated:2018-03-07 11:46 CDT
Sites:UW Oshkosh
Feedback:  1   0